MusicOne Windows · System settings & backups

Lost Database Recovery

Database “deleted”? It isn’t: point Music 1 back to the network or cloud folder where your .m1 file lives.

Updated

Several times a year, we get an urgent call from a MusicONE user reporting that his database ‘has been deleted’. That can be scary, but it can’t happen, M1 can not delete its own database. What can happen is your computer can lose its network connection and if your (station).m1 library file is on the network, MusicONE won’t have access to it. In that case, it will jump back to the default location to look for it. That default location is: c:\music 1 . For M1 SE, it is c:\music 1 se

The MusicONE installer includes one, sometimes two demo databases. If either of those are opened, they will immediately state that the license has expired and to contact the M1 office for an update. That can trip you up if you don’t notice the database that is selected when you launch it. In the first screenshot below, M1 is looking to the default C-drive folder, where I have the databases of several stations.

(note: you can and should delete those demo databases from your Music 1 folder)

Music 1 start screen looking in the default C drive folder

Now in the next screenshot, I’ve clicked the Network button and negotiated to the Dropbox folder where my own station’s database is kept.

Browsing with the Network button to the database folder on Dropbox

Reminder: If you are working with your .m1 database file kept on a network or in a cloud folder, then you must enable multi-user mode. Read more about it in Multi-User Update.

Was this helpful?

Still need help?

Talk to a real person.

Call or email us, and you’ll get a person who knows radio.